VSA Board

VSA Board Members

James Brown (Chairman)

James Brown is an author and national security expert. A former Australian Army officer with service in Iraq and Afghanistan, he has held research appointments at the Lowy Institute for International Policy, United States Studies Centre, and the University of Sydney. He is the author of two books on Australian defence policy and a regular contributor on foreign policy and defence issues in Australian and international media. 

James is the Immediate Past President of the Returned and Services League NSW (2017-19) where he led a team rebuilding and modernising Australia’s largest veterans’ charity. James studied economics at the University of Sydney and completed graduate studies in strategy at the University of New South Wales. He is a graduate of the Royal Military College, Duntroon 


Glenn Keys AO 

Glenn is the founder and Executive Chairman of Canberra-based Aspen Medical, one of the world’s leading providers of outsourced healthcare solutions. Prior to building and leading businesses in the private sector, Glenn had a distinguished career in the Australian Defence Force (ADF).

Glenn sits on a number of Boards including the National Disability Insurance Agency, the University of Canberra Council and Project Independence.  Project Independence is a not-for-profit that Glenn founded in 2012 to provide homeownership for people with an intellectual disability and is the only homeownership programme of its kind in Australia.  In 2017, Glenn was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for both his philanthropic leadership in the business sector and his work as an advocate for people with an intellectual disability.

Glenn is a graduate of the University of New South Wales and the International Test Pilots School in the UK. He is a member of the Australian Institute of Project Management, a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Australia.

Air Chief Marshal Mark Binskin AC (Retd)

Air Chief Marshal Mark Binskin AC (Retd) is a highly decorated and respected senior executive and leader in the national security, defence and aerospace sectors. He was Chief of the Defence Force of Australia from 2014-2018, Vice Chief of the Defence Force (2011-2014) and Chief of Air Force (2008-2011).

He is currently Chair of the Royal Commission into Natural Disaster Arrangements, Chair of the Australia Pacific Security College Advisory Board, Deputy Chair of the Airservices Board, Deputy Chair of the Sir Richard Williams Foundation, on the Boards of the Western City and Aerotroplis Authority and the Australian International Military Games, a member of the Governing Committee of the Temora Aviation Museum and is Non-Executive Director Defence and National Security Policy with BAE Systems Australia.

Air Chief Marshal Binskin (Retd) has provided specialist advice to the highest levels of governments, industry leaders and international stakeholders and his aerospace knowledge and expertise is extensive. As Chief of Defence, he successfully led the Australian Defence Force, comprising 80,000 permanent and reserve personnel, to significantly improve capabilities and responses to major global events and championed organisational change across areas of national security, culture, diversity and leadership performance.

Air Chief Marshal Binskin (Retd) has completed the Harvard Business School Advanced Management Program, is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Brigadier Patrick Kidd OBE OAM (Retd)

Patrick Kidd was appointed as the CEO of the AIMG in Jan 2017 and was on secondment from Deloitte until the Games concluded in October 2018.

Prior to joining Deloitte in 2015, Patrick served in both the British and the Australian Army serving in a variety of key appointments until he retired from the Australian Army in 2014 with the rank of Brigadier.

Patrick has seen operational service in both Afghanistan and Iraq, and received the Order of the British Empire for his services as the Commander of The Royal Tank regiment, in Iraq in 2003 and an Order of Australia Medal for his role conceiving and delivering the Invictus Games Sydney 2018 and service to disability sport.


Previous Board Members 

  • Peter Leahy (Chairman, April 2016 - June 2020)
  • Cheryl Bart (Sept 2016 - June 2020)
  • Angela Diamond (May 2018 - March 2020)
  • Phillip Prior (Sept 2016 - Jan 2018)
  • Campbell Rose (Sept 2016 - Dec 2018)
  • Janine Kirk (Sept 2016 - Dec 2018)
  • Brian Thorburn (Sept 2016 - Dec 2018)
  • Peter Collins (July 2017 - Dec 2018)
  • Gayle Anderson (March 2018 - Dec 2018)
  • Renee Wilson (March 2018 - Dec 2018)